top of page

Sicilian Hamburger Rice Stuffing - The Untraditional, Traditional Italian Thanksgiving Side Dish

Updated: Nov 15, 2019


 


 

This rice stuffing made with ground hamburger meat is one of my fondest childhood memories from the few short Thanksgivings I was able to spend with my Father. Thanks to my older Sisters who have passed down the families recipe, it has become my most looked forward to Thanksgiving tradition!

 


I cannot believe that Thanksgiving is only a few weeks away. Getting this blog started right before the holidays has not proven to be the best timing, as I am late to the party on every holiday related post so far. So, I'm even more shocked I'm getting this out ahead of time!


 

Now, there was of course no recipe card that my Dad would whip out each year, so I will do my best to provide accurate measurements and instructions that result in that savory flavor that tastes just like I was 4 again!

 

I myself have "eyeballed" the amounts of each ingredient, as I'm sure my sister Donna did when she passed down our Fathers "recipe", but that's the beauty of a great Italian dish- you make it to your liking!


If your house smells like an Italian American feast on Thanksgiving day than your on the right track!

 

~As always, best served with a glass of Red Table Wine.

 

Hamburger Rice Stuffing


Depending on how much you want to make...

I use at least 2 lb of ground chuck and kind of set the ratio of the other ingredients from there. This recipe should serve about 6 as a side dish no problem, and at Thanksgiving Dinner with all the other sides would make enough for 8.


- 2 lbs Ground Chuck

- 1 medium size onion (sliced)

- 1clove garlic (chopped)

- salt and pepper

- Pecorino and Romano cheese

- 2 cups White Rice


1.) Brown the Chuck hamburger meat over medium heat for about 15 minutes.


2.) Pour off some of the grease but not all of it. You want to leave enough fat to caramelize those onions. The more flavor you like the better!




 

3.) Remove the meat from the pan and set aside.


4.) Caramelize a medium sized onion and a clove of garlic by sauteing on low heat for about 15-20 minutes.


 



5.) Add to the hamburger.


6.) Cook the white rice and add it to your hamburger and onion mixture.



 


 

7.) Season that bad boy up with a generous portion of salt and pepper and top with Pecorino and Romano cheese until your hearts content. (My sister Donna says our Dad always added way to much pepper but I beg to differ!).


8.) Mix it all up!



 

VOILA!!!



"Eat it in something... or on the keto diet use a cauliflower rice the same way... Easy breezy... and delicious... My stepsons love it every Thanksgiving...Pass it on to the boys and keep that tradition going..." ~Donna Colby Di Nova


 

E.A.S.Y

Delicious

Itallliiiaannnnnn

Need I say more?


If you want to try this Stuffing out this Thanksgiving, Pin it for later!!


Need more of these Holiday feels? Subscribe and don't miss a thing!

You can catch me on social at the following:


Until next time- stay crafty San Diego ~Manda

225 views0 comments
bottom of page