top of page

Super Simple Spiderweb Glow Mason Jars

Updated: Oct 30, 2019



 


This was quite possibly THE easiest Halloween craft my Twinsies and I have ever completed. I don’t think I had to say to them even one time... “we’re almost done, let’s just finish up, cmon”. Scroll below for step by step instructions on this kid-friendly Mason Jar Craft!


 

There‘s no denying that Halloween is the best time of year for crafting and getting creative. If you haven’t noticed, the past year or so we’ve been in the midst of a Mason Jar Epidemic and this Halloween is no exception.


After the challenge imposed on myself of making my Twin Boys Halloween costumes over the last 2 weeks (Pennywise Old vs. New- I’ll write a separate post on that topic), I needed something simple. And when I say simple I mean like 3 steps/materials max.


These Mason Jars would make a great outdoor porch decoration, that is sure to scare the ghosts and goblins away. You could also make these for last minute Halloween party decorations that play off everyone’s fears...SPIDERS 🕷🕸. The glow in the dark paint lasts about 30-45 minutes but if you stick a tea light inside it would make a great Halloween bathroom nigh light!


 




So, are you ready to get spooky? In order to make these Spiderweb Glow Mason Jars you will need 3 things (Glue isn’t required but it helps that spider stay for good):


1.) Mason Jar- Any size, any texture will do. I used the patterned ones that had the little ridges and found it easier to to paint on the web because they acted almost as guide lines.


2.) Glow in the Dark Paint-I got mine at Michaels for about $4.50 it is Folk Art brand Super Glow premium glow in the dark acrylic paint.


3.) Strong Bonding Glue - I used E6000. This stuff is amazing, that spider is caught in his own web for life! But you could use any glue or simply use the paint as your adhesive.


4.) Fake Spider



 

Now when I made these, I kept them ultra basic since I was looking to do something that I could start and finish in one sitting with my 8 year old Twins. Consider this a basic craft that you could jazz up as you please. It could be just one of a set, I was thinking some sort of bat cave with glow in the dark paint inside and black with holes on the out (brain wheels turning)?

To start, take your paint and make a small circle somewhere towards the middlish and don’t worry if it’s not perfect- the imperfections give it that spooky spider feel. Continue to make concentric circles outwards until you can’t circle no more.


 


 

Next, paint lines swooping and connecting one circle to the next in typical spiderweb fashion. As simple as a spiderweb is I actually kept an image up on my phone to glance at because, well, I do that with just about anything I am attempting to “draw”.... NOT my forte!



 

Last, slap on your fake spider anywhere you think looks right and you’ve got your self a working DIY Halloween Decoration!!


But don’t stop there! Put that bad boy under some artificial light for a minute or two, shut off the lights and prepare to feel the hairs on your skin raise with this creepy glowing jar of spiderlicious fun!


 



 

If you try this out as part of your Halloween Decorating Festivities, I‘d love to hear how it turns out! What else are you DIYing this Halloween/Fall/Pumpkin spice season that you’d like to share??

I am full force ready for the Thanksgiving/Christmas crafting season that is upon us, but first I need to get through the second round of Halloween Costuming on Thursday. Keep an eye out for my post on how I created my Twins DIY Old Pennywise vs New Pennywise costumes. For more inspiration, follow me on Pinterest at: Manda Panda Parties


You can catch me on social at the following:

If you wanna take the easy way out and browse some of my Crafty little inventions, I’m always adding new projects to my Etsy store!

Until next time- stay crafty San Diego ~Manda












55 views0 comments
bottom of page